Tuesday, March 4, 2014

Ask Linda #804-Ball hits stake

Dear Linda,

One of the par 4’s at our Club has five 12” stakes (connected with a rope) running perpendicular to the hole at about the 100-yard mark. The purpose is to direct power carts to the right so they do not travel closer to the green.

If a player hits one of these stakes (with either his/her first or second shot) and the ball ricochets and comes to rest in a nasty lie, must the player play the ball as it lies or does the player have the option to replay the ball with no penalty?

Thank you.
Lou from Toronto 

Dear Lou,

That’s just bad luck, Lou. Stakes crossing the fairway are a common occurrence on a golf course. No free relief; no option to replay the ball with no penalty. You must play the ball as it lies.

Copyright © 2014 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.