Tuesday, July 23, 2013

Ask Linda #694-Flagstick replaced after putt hit off green


If my ball is on the green, obviously I must remove the flagstick to putt out to avoid a penalty. Suppose my ball is on the green and after I putt, the ball ends up off the green. If I replace the flagstick and hole out my next stroke, do I incur a penalty since my ball was originally on the green? 
Lulu from Pennsylvania

Dear Lulu,

The flagstick may be replaced in the hole if your putt finishes off the green. As long as the flagstick is unattended, there is no penalty for hitting the flagstick in the hole when your stroke is made from off the putting green [Rule 17-3].

Copyright © 2013 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.