Wednesday, December 7, 2011

Ask Linda #384-Accidentally lifting marker

Dear Linda 

Situation at golf today - player on last green marked ball, then measured distance from hole for nearest the pin - then measured another player's ball - discovered his marker in hand. Should he have replaced his ball as near as possible to the original position taking a one-stroke penalty?  He actually disqualified himself.


Dear Lulu,

When a ball marker is marking the position of a ball, it has the same status as a ball. Lifting the marker, therefore, is equivalent to lifting your ball in play. The penalty is one stroke, and the player must replace the ball or the marker [Rule 18-2a].

Imposing a disqualification penalty on yourself for an infraction that only requires a one-stroke penalty is a poignant illustration of why it is so important to know the rules.

Copyright © 2011 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.