Friday, July 6, 2018

Ask Linda #1771-Player steps on opponent’s ball

Dear readers,
Just a reminder that I will be away from my desk for the rest of the month. Please do not send me any questions until August 1.

Hi Linda,
In match play both me and my opponent were in the same greenside bunker. He played first and after his shot stood on my ball making my shot practically impossible. What should we have done?
Lou from Portugal

Dear Lou,

In match play, other than during search, if your opponent moves your ball he incurs a one-stroke penalty and the ball must be replaced [Rule 18-3b]. Since this occurred in a bunker, the original lie must be restored and the ball must be placed in that lie [Rule 20-3b (iii)].

Copyright © 2018 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.