Thursday, July 5, 2018

Ask Linda #1770-Drop provisional and move one club-length

Good evening Linda,
I have a question relating to playing a provisional ball.

We played at an away golf club today. One of the Local Rules allows one-club-length placing on the fairway. One of the guys in our group indicated that he was playing a provisional ball (his second shot). He dropped the ball and then moved the ball under the local rule. Is this allowed with a provisional ball?

Kind regards,
Lou from Cape Town, South Africa

Dear Lou,

Yes. When a Local Rule is in place permitting preferred lies, the player may improve the lie of a provisional ball after he has dropped it.

Copyright © 2018 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.