Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Ask Linda #1615-Place clubs in bunker

Dear Linda,
We would like to know if a player walks into a bunker with a few clubs, and decides to use one of them, and places the other clubs on the sand in the bunker, will there be a rules infringement?
Lou from Singapore

Dear Lou,

No. There is no penalty for placing the extra clubs in the sand, provided you do not test the condition of the hazard or improve the lie of your ball [Rule 13-4, Exception 1]. Indeed, you may bring your whole bag in with you. Just be sure to tidy everything up when you exit the bunker.

Copyright © 2017 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.