Thursday, September 7, 2017

Ask Linda #1612-Change shirt during round

On a very wet day, a player whilst using the clubhouse toilets at the 9th hole changes into a dry shirt. She had taken the dry shirt in her golf bag at the start of the round. Did she commit an infringement of the Rules of Golf?
Hope you can help.
Lulu from Scotland

Dear Lulu,


Offhand, I can’t think of any sport that denies a player the right to change her shirt (or shorts, socks, shoes, and underwear). If you’re jealous that she now has a dry shirt and you don’t, pack one yourself for unforeseen future emergencies.

The Rules would not permit a change of clothing that unduly delays play, but that would not be an issue in the situation you describe.

Copyright © 2017 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.