Friday, September 1, 2017

Ask Linda #1608-Relief from electrical box for shot towards green

Hi Linda,
In a tournament at our club my partner hit her ball behind an electrical box (immovable obstruction). If she lined up to hit toward the green the box was in her swing path. However, she did have a shot parallel to the green. Our opponents said she could not take relief and her only option was to hit into a bunker causing us the loss of hole. Could she have taken relief without penalty?
Lulu from Massachusetts

Dear Lulu,


An electrical box is an immovable obstruction (man-made). A player is entitled to free relief from an immovable obstruction that interferes with her stance or the area of her intended swing. She is entitled to drop the ball within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, no closer to the hole [Rule 24-2a and b].

Please note that the player is not entitled to relief if the obstruction is on her line of play. After she drops the ball, the obstruction may very well sit on her line of play towards the hole. As long as she is able to stand and swing freely, she has received all the free relief to which she is entitled.

Copyright © 2017 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.