Monday, September 21, 2015

Ask Linda #1153-Tee fellow competitor’s ball in fairway

Linda, in a recent stroke play tournament (three best balls of four), a player accidentally hit too close to the group in front of them. The group in front then teed the ball up to show the player how close they were. Is that a penalty even though they were not in the same group?
Lulu from San Juan Capistrano, California

Dear Lulu,

There is no penalty in stroke play for moving a fellow competitor’s ball [Rule 18-4], but there are serious etiquette violations here, and the Committee needs to talk to both groups of players.

Players should not hit a ball until it is safe to do so. Players endangered by a ball hit by a following player should politely but firmly tell the guilty party to wait until they are out of range.

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.