Wednesday, September 16, 2015

Ask Linda #1150-Use rulebook while playing

Hello Linda,

I've been looking and searching the answer for this question.

My question is: Are the players allowed to refer to Golf rulebooks or to those quick reference guide rulebooks while playing in the tournament?

Lou from Mississauga, Ontario

Dear Lou,

Of course!

I’m happy to hear you carry a rulebook in your bag. Everyone should. (And everyone should keep a second book handy in the house for consultation.)

Players may share information about the Rules – this is not considered “advice” [Definition of “Advice”].

If you are unable to find the answer to your question without unduly delaying play, look it up at the end of your round. If you are playing in a tournament, make sure you consult a member of the Committee regarding any questions on the Rules before you sign and submit your scorecard.

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.