Friday, May 20, 2011

Ask Linda #302-“Swing and a miss” in bunker

Dear Linda,
Here is a situation. A player's ball is in the bunker. He strikes the ball but missed it and hits the sand instead. What is the penalty? Is it one stroke penalty for missing his ball or two strokes penalty for hitting the sand?

Dear Lou,

A player who swings at a ball with the intention of hitting it has made a stroke, even if he whiffs [Definition of Stroke]. Count one stroke for the “swing and a miss.”

Copyright © 2011 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.