Thursday, May 5, 2011

Ask Linda #296–Fixing pitch marks, ball off green

Dear Linda,
Are you permitted to fix a pitch mark on the green if your ball is not on the green?
Lou Lou

Dear Lou Lou,

Yes. You are permitted to repair any damage to the green that was caused by the impact of a ball, regardless of whether your ball lies on the green [Rule 16-1c].

Please don’t forget that you are not permitted to repair a pitch mark anywhere else if by doing so you will improve your lie, the area of your intended stance or swing, or your line of play. There is an exception to this rule. If the damage occurs after your ball has come to rest, you may repair it. A player is always entitled to the lie that his shot gave him.

Copyright © 2011 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.