Thursday, January 13, 2011

Ask Linda #398-Using a club as a direction guide

Hi Linda,
Recently while playing a Team Match one of the players continually placed a club to set her direction on the teeing ground. The club was removed before she hit the drive. Is this legal?

Dear Lulu,

Yes. This is legal as long as she picks up the club before she hits the ball [Decision 8-2a/1]. Any mark placed by a player to indicate the line must be removed before making a stroke [Rule 8-2a]. If she leaves the club on the ground, she has breached Rule 8-2a and will lose the hole.

Copyright © 2011 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.