Monday, January 10, 2011

Ask Linda #271-Removing leaf under ball

Linda, my ball was on the fairway and lying on a large leaf with the logo facing up. I pulled the leaf from under the ball. The ball did not change location but it must have spun because the logo was now facing to the side. Should I be penalized?
Thank you
Lou Lou

Dear Lou Lou,

Did you really think you could pull a leaf out from underneath a ball without moving the ball? Are you Houdini?

A player is entitle to remove loose impediments, but if he moves the ball in the process he incurs a one-stroke penalty under Rule 18-2a and the ball must be replaced. If it is not replaced, the penalty is two strokes.

Moving loose impediments is like a game of pick-up-sticks. You need to survey the situation and decide which impediments can safely be moved without disturbing the ball.

Copyright © 2011 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.