Monday, November 15, 2010

Ask Linda #256-Practice swing in nearby bunker

A player's ball is in a bunker. There is another bunker, a few steps away. He steps into the other bunker and takes a practice swing, striking the sand. Has he broken a rule?
Thank you
Lou Lou

Dear Lou Lou,

Yes, Lou. The player has broken Rule 13-4a, which states that a player may not test the condition of a bunker or any similar bunker before he hits a ball that is in a bunker. This rule applies to any water hazard or bunker. The penalty is loss of hole in match play, two strokes in stroke play.

Copyright © 2010 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.