Saturday, October 23, 2010

Ask Linda #249b-Cart path in hazard

Linda, how would your answer to 249 be different if the ball lay in a hazard below a raised cart path?

Dear Lou Lou,

The answer would be the same, except that when taking relief from an immovable obstruction in a hazard you must drop the ball in the hazard to get free relief. The player has the option to take the ball out of the hazard and drop it behind the hazard on a line straight back from the hole, but this option would add a penalty stroke to his score [Rule 24-2b, ii].

Copyright © 2010 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.