Thursday, October 7, 2010

Ask Linda #245-"Shoveling" ball

Hi Linda,
In our club championship a player hit her ball into a sand trap near the green. In order to hit the ball out, she ''shoveled'' the ball instead of using a normal back swing. Is this technique allowed?
Thank you,

Dear Lulu,

“Shoveling” a ball is not permitted. Rule 14-1 explains that the ball “must not be pushed, scraped or spooned.” The player in your question has incurred a two-stroke penalty (loss of hole in match play).

In making a stroke, a player is required to swing at the ball. When done properly, there is only momentary contact between the clubhead and the ball.

Copyright © 2010 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.