Wednesday, February 8, 2012

Ask Linda #411-Ball lands in moving cart

Hello Linda,

I was playing with my Sunday morning club. After all groups were finished, one of the players in another group told me his ball landed in another player’s cart while moving. The players in the cart never realized the ball was in their cart. I asked my friend how did they proceed. He told me he dropped a ball where the ball entered the cart on the course and played from there with no penalty. Was he correct?
What rule or rules apply to this situation?

Dear Lou,

Your friend’s procedure was correct, Lou. The rule reference is 19-1a.

Copyright © 2012 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.