Monday, December 27, 2010

Ask Linda #267-Relief outside hazard, ball in hazard

My ball was in a hazard but playable. When addressing the ball, my feet were outside the hazard and standing on an exposed drainage pipe. Do I get relief from the pipe even though my ball is in a hazard?
Thank you
Lou Lou

Dear Lou Lou,

The preface to the explanation of how to take relief from an immovable obstruction begins by stating: “Except when the ball is in a water hazard or a lateral water hazard” [Rule 24-2, b]. This is your first hint that you will not be entitled to relief from the drainage pipe outside the hazard. The clincher comes along in Note 1 to the same rule, which states unequivocally that a player is not entitled to relief from an immovable obstruction if his ball lies in a water hazard. It is the location of the ball, in this case, that dictates procedure. When your ball is in a water hazard, you may choose to play it as it lies or take relief under the water hazard rule (26-1). There is no relief from an immovable obstruction outside the hazard when your ball lies in the hazard.

Copyright © 2010 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.