Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Ask Linda #263-Raking before hitting

Hi Linda----If your ball is in a large bunker near one end, and the rake is near the other end of the bunker, when you enter the bunker to retrieve the rake are you allowed to rake the sand over from where you entered to retrieve the rake, as long as it is nowhere near your ball at the other end? This would save returning to where you got the rake from. I believe it is allowed. Please correct me if I am wrong.

Kind regards,
Lou Lou

Dear Lou Lou,

A player is not permitted to smooth the sand in a hazard with a rake prior to hitting his ball that lies in the hazard, regardless of how big or small the hazard may be. This would constitute testing the condition of the hazard [Rule 13-4a; Decision 13-4/0.5]. The penalty is two strokes (loss of hole in match play).

Copyright © 2010 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.