Monday, September 20, 2010

Ask Linda #240-Repairing ball marks


When your ball is just off the green and you have elected to putt can you fix ball marks on the green?


Dear Lulu,


Rule 16-1c states that the player is allowed to “repair damage to the putting green caused by the impact of a ball, whether or not the player’s ball lies on the putting green.”

It makes no difference whether you are putting or chipping onto the green. You are always permitted to repair ball marks that are on the green.


Copyright © 2010 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.