Thursday, June 10, 2010

Ask Linda #211-Relief from branch growing in ESA

Dear Linda,

Is it true that you can or must take relief from a branch or bush that is outside of - but rooted in - an area that is designated as environmentally sensitive?

Thank you

Lou Lou

Dear Lou Lou,

Any bush or tree that is growing in an area designated as environmentally sensitive (ESA) is part of the ESA [Definition of “Ground Under Repair”]. If any part of that bush or tree extends outside the ESA and interferes with a player’s stance or swing, he is entitled to take free relief under Rule 25-1 (Abnormal Ground Conditions). He is not required to take relief, since his ball lies outside the area designated as ESA [Decision 25-1a/1].


Copyright © 2010 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.