Monday, May 24, 2010

Ask Linda #206-What disqualification means

Dear Linda,

We had a player not sign her card. We know it is disqualification but what is the meaning of disqualification?

They are disqualified from winning the day, but are they still eligible for eclectic? It was also a stroke round – does it count for our honour board?

Can't find anything that actually stipulates rulings on disqualification.

Thanks, Lulu

Dear Lulu,

For those of my readers who are unfamiliar with the term “eclectic,” it refers to a tournament of several rounds where a player’s lowest score on each hole is counted. Another term for this type of tournament is “ringers.” The player would not be disqualified from the entire eclectic tournament; only her scores from the round in which she was disqualified would not count.

The answer to the question of whether a player is obligated to post a score when she has been disqualified under Rule 6-6b for not signing a scorecard is “yes.” Such a score is acceptable for handicap purposes, and should be posted. This information can be found in Section 5-1e of The USGA Handicap System.

I am not familiar with the term “honour board.” However, generally speaking, disqualification means just that. The player is obligated to post her score, but she is not eligible for any tournament recognition.


Copyright © 2010 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.