Monday, May 17, 2010

Ask Linda #204-Pressing down a ball marker

Dear Linda,

Is it permissible to 'tamp down' your ball marker after you have marked the position of your ball on the green?

Lou Lou

Dear Lou Lou,

Yes. In fact, your opponent would also be permitted to press down your marker [Decision 20-1/6.5].

Should you press it down with your putter and find, after you walk away, that the marker stuck to the bottom of your putter, you incur no penalty and must replace your marker. This is because pressing down your marker right after you mark and lift the ball is considered to be part of the process of marking your ball [Decision 20-1/6].


Copyright © 2010 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.