Tuesday, March 8, 2011
Ask Linda #283–Line-of-sight relief for GUR
We read your opinion of line of sight from an obstruction.
How about GROUND UNDER REPAIR?
Are you able to get relief if you must hit your shot over or through ground under repair to reach a green?
The rule is the same in both cases, Lou. You are not entitled to relief from ground under repair (GUR) simply because it interferes with your line of play [Rule 25-1a]. If your ball is lying in GUR, you are of course entitled to free relief (drop within one club-length of the nearest point of relief that is no closer to the hole). If your ball is not lying in GUR, you must play the ball as it lies.
This is a good time to remind everyone not to lift the ball out of the GUR until you assess your relief options. The nearest point of relief may put you in a worse predicament than the GUR. Of course, it may also occur that your free drop incidentally improves your line of play, in which case feel free to grin at your good luck.
Copyright © 2011 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.