Monday, March 15, 2010

Ask Linda #185-Picking up a marker

Hi Linda,

Back to the marking of the ball. What happens if you marked the ball and when you went to replace it, you picked up the marker and forgot to put the ball back? I know this sounds dumb but it happened this week.


Dear Lulu,

Lifting a marker is equivalent to lifting a ball. The penalty for lifting a ball in play is one stroke, and the ball must be placed as near as possible to its original position [Rules 20-1 and 18-2a].


Copyright © 2010 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.